A God in Every Stone

I won this as part of the set of 2015 Baileys prize shortlisted books. I don’t think I would have come across it otherwise. All the blurb and review quotes made it sound fantastic so I was pretty excited to read it.

I’ve got to say I like the idea- a story of parallel lives linked by Peshawar around the time of the First World War. One, a young British female archaeologist and the other a returning Pathan soldier who loses an eye at the front. It shines a light on some aspects of both ancient and modern history that I know very little, if anything, about for which I am very thankful. It has a lot of potential but I’m sorry to say I just struggled to read it. I didn’t think the writing was brilliant, I found it a little clunky, and most importantly I never really connected with the characters. Again, I liked the idea of them but not how they revealed themselves on the page if that makes sense?

2.5 stars

Leave a Reply

