#ThrowBookThursday: Wuthering Heights

IMG_0646I’ve talked about my love for Wuthering Heights a lot on this blog so I thought it fitting to choose it for this week’s #ThrowBookThursday. This copy, pictured above, is the very one I fell in love with back when I was a teenager. It has been read and re-read and dipped in and out of many times, so much so that I decided to cover it in sticky backed plastic to protect the cover. It wasn’t expensive, I think it was one of those 99p editions, and its probably not a ‘done thing’ in proper book circles but I’m glad I did it because its still in very good nick as a result.

I doubt if there are any of you who don’t know the story, but in a nutshell its a love-story (one that even persists beyond the grave) between Catherine Earnshaw and the dark, former foundling Heathcliff. Brought up together after Cathy’s father brings Heathcliff home from a trip, they form a deep bond as they spend their days roaming the wild Yorkshire moorland. When she is introduced to the wholesome, wealthy Lintons, Cathy is torn between choosing a probably tempestuous future with Heathcliff, her soul mate, or enjoying the social mobility and stability that a marriage to fair, sweet Edgar Linton would make. *Spoiler alert*, Cathy chooses Edgar, but the decision drives both her and Heathcliff mad, and Cathy to an early grave from which she continues to haunt her lost love.

When I first read it, I was drawn in by the atmosphere and captivated by the love triangle. I think all teenage girls love the bad boy, right? It was then one of my set texts on my IB English course at College and on studying it deeper I fell in love with it all over again on a different level. I appreciated the poetry of the words, the way the house (Wuthering Heights) and the moor is like a character in itself, the symbolism of boundaries throughout the book (like windows, doors, and the line between the living and the dead). Since then I’ve read it several times, and even had my best friend read an extract at my wedding. I can’t understand how anyone could not love this book. I’m definitely due for a re-read…

 

4 thoughts on “#ThrowBookThursday: Wuthering Heights

  1. Thanks for the great thoughts! This is one of my all time favorites. I enjoyed reading. If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

  2. You had an extract read at your wedding! That’s a really beautiful scene,like really!! 🙂

    In fact,even the way you describe your love for this book is beautiful.I guess there are books that just hold a special place in our hearts…
    I’m currently eyeing the Folio edition of Wuthering Heights.It was published by the end of 2014 and comprises some really exquisite illustrations. You might want to check it out if you like the book that much.

    • Thank you for your comments! I also had an extract of another favourite, Captain Correlli’s Mandolin, read at my wedding. I’m glad you liked the idea! It’s my birthday soon so perhaps I will ask for that Folio edition!

Leave a Reply

