An Update

As I have pointed out in a previous post, I don’t have much time for reading and blogging at the moment, but I am really missing both so while my baby is having her afternoon nap I am trying to do something about it.

I am currently reading Fives and Twenty-Fives by Michael Pitre, which I got through NetGalley. It is written by an Iraq War veteran and is about the experiences of a Lieutenant, a medic and an Iraqi interpreter who served with the Marines. I’m about a third of the way through and have started to get into it, but so far it isn’t captivating me in the way that Yellow Birds by Kevin Powers did which is on a similar theme (you can read my review to that here).

books

My (mental) to-be-read list is getting ever longer and I received a decent haul of books for Christmas as you can see above. (Ok, the Will Self is my husband’s but I will probably get around to reading it before he does as he only really reads on holiday). The picture below is of a box of books I took last week from my Gran’s house. My grandfather was a great reader and collector of books and I am really pleased to have been allowed to help myself to his collection since he died in November of 2013, its lovely to have something of his to remember him by and he had some really interesting volumes- classics, modern fiction, biographies, history etc. This is the second such box I have taken and a lot of the others are to go to the Oxfam bookshop in town for someone else to enjoy.

2015/01/img_0412.jpg

 

One thought on “An Update

  1. Looks like a lovely collection of books! I hope you enjoy The Night Guest – I really enjoyed this one and it was one of my top books I read last year 🙂

Leave a Reply

