Challenge Completed!

Well I started my “Book a Week” challenge on the 31st October 2013 so I have done my year. If you’ve been following then you will know that I have done it! Over the last 52 weeks I have read 64 books so I am feeling pretty pleased with myself. I admit there have been weeks where I have not completed a book, but then there have been others where I have managed 2 or 3 so it evens out (I hope that’s not cheating.. but hey! This is my challenge, and my rules so I say its all ok!). I am continuing on to the end of the year as I want to get 52 books read for 2014 to complete my Goodreads challenge. And from then on, who knows?! I would like to continue with the blog but I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep up the pace with my baby daughter demanding most of my attention, so perhaps I should change the name?

You can find my index of all my books read here with links to all their reviews. Here are few ‘facts and figures’:

Top 5

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
  • Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey
  • Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
  • The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney

Number of books by women: 33 (pleased with this. I haven’t particularly made an effort to read more women writers and a lot of the books have been big new releases, so it shows women writers are getting more recognition and publicity)

Number of books by writers ‘of colour’ (for want of a better term): 5 (I am disappointed, with myself for not picking up more books by diverse authors and with the industry for not ‘shoving them in my face’ as much)

Non-fiction: 8 (unsurprising, I read for a bit of escapism and rarely reach for non-fiction)

 

Leave a Reply

