Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Own The Most

7ac7b-toptentuesday2

 

I didn’t take part in last week’s Top Ten Tuesday (the weekly book meme hosted by blog The Broke and the Bookish) because I just found it too hard to think of ten fictional characters I’d want with me on a desert island! Today it is rather easier with the Top Ten Authors of whom you own the most books… (order is in which they occurred to me)

  1. Ian McEwan

McEwan is probably my favourite contemporary author. I love his clean style and how wonderfully he builds tension.

 

  1. George RR Martin

I don’t usually go in for fantasy but my husband and I are hooked on The Song of Ice and Fire series and as some of the books are so massive they’ve been split into two in paperback it means we have a lot of these.

 

  1. Eric Hobsbawm

Eric Hobsbawm is my favourite historian and, well, person in general. I honestly did sob a little when he died. Meeting him at the Hay on Wye literature festival was one of my life’s ambitions fulfilled even though he seemed a bit bemused by my gushing. He writes with such passion and conviction bringing the events of world history to life.

 

  1. Louis de Bernieres

Another of my favourite contemporary authors although I was rather disappointed with the recent Notwithstanding. Birds Without Wings is, for me, a modern masterpiece. I also met him at an event to mark the release of A Partisan’s Daughter in Birmingham Waterstones and had a really lovely chat with him, although he said he had seen me in the audience and thought I looked sad! I said it was just my thoughtful face I think!

 

  1. George Orwell

I have a lovely volume of Orwell’s complete works of fiction and quite a lot of nice old, battered second hand copies of his non-fiction. He is a fantastic writer on such a range of subjects and an automatic hero of mine for going to Spain to fight in the Civil War, excellently portrayed in Homage to Catalonia, of course.

 

  1. Thomas Hardy

Whilst Wuthering Heights is my favourite ‘classic’ book (in fact, just my favourite book), Thomas Hardy is my favourite classic author. No one else writes tragedy quite like him.

 

  1. Sebastian Faulks

I wouldn’t have necessarily said I was a huge Faulks fan but somehow I seem to have got most of his recent books from Birdsong onwards. I find him a little hit and miss, to be honest, but when he gets it right (like with Birdsong) he is brilliant.

 

  1. Niall Ferguson

Ferguson is a historian I love to hate. He writes incredibly well and The Pity of War and The War of the World in particular are fascinating accounts of the First and Second World Wars. However he is a raging neo-liberal/ Thatcherite and an apologist for the British Empire. Hmm.

 

  1. George Bernard Shaw/ HG Wells/ Ernest Hemingway

I have inherited a large collection of the works of these authors from my grandfather and I haven’t really read many of them so I’m classing these together.

10. Kate Mosse

I wouldn’t say Mosse is a brilliant writer, but I really enjoyed her ‘Languedoc trilogy’ and the sort of spin off Winter Ghosts. They are great, fun, easy holiday reading.

Leave a Reply

