Top Ten Tuesday: Other “Stories”- Favourite TV and Films

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme from The Broke and the Bookish is Top 10 TV shows or films. I don’t think my TV/ movie preferences are as ‘high brow’ as my reading tastes, so I’m not sure if I want to share!

These were so hard as I have so many favourites! I just know as soon as I hit publish I’m going to want to change it all but here goes, in no real order of preference…

TV Shows

  1. The Wire
  2. Romanzo Criminale
  3. The Good Wife
  4. League of Gentlemen
  5. The West Wing
  6. The Bridge
  7. Borgen
  8. The Walking Dead
  9. Blackadder
  10. The Sopranos

Honourable mentions:

Peep Show, Father Ted, , NYPD Blue, er, Southland, The Returned, Spiral, The Americans, Generation Kill, The Thick of It, America’s Next Top Model, Gavin and Stacey, The Office, Extras, Nurse Jackie, Nashville, The X Files, Big Love

Films

  1. Good Will Hunting
  2. La Haine
  3. Forrest Gump
  4. Land and Freedom
  5. The English Patient
  6. Some Like it Hot
  7. The Deer Hunter
  8. The Bourne Trilogy
  9. Monty Python and the Holy Grail/ Life of Brian (can’t choose between them)
  10. Elf or National Lampoons Christmas Vacation (essential Christmas viewing!)

Honourable mentions:

Amelie, Fight Club, Trainspotting, Star Wars trilogy, Lord of the Rings trilogy, Big, City of God, Pan’s Labyrinth, The Departed, The Lives of Others, Goodbye Lenin!, The Wizard of Oz, Slumdog Millionaire, Romeo + Juliet, Cinema Paradiso,

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Other “Stories”- Favourite TV and Films

    • Ha ha, maybe! I also watch a lot of trash but I know that they are not “good” shows and wouldn’t say they were my favourites (like CSI, True Blood etc)

    • That’s a shame, its really great. Here in Britain we have a good channel called BBC4 which shows a lot of Euro dramas like that. I never actually watched The West Wing when it was on TV but a friend lent me the DVDs and I got hooked! Thanks for reading and commenting! x

Leave a Reply

