A to Z of Book Thoughts

A few of the lovely bloggers I follow have done this A to Z thing so I thought I would give it a go.

AUTHOR YOU’VE READ THE MOST BOOKS FROM:

As an adult, I would probably have to say Ian McEwan as I think I have read pretty much every one of his books at some point. (I say as an adult because as a child I think I read the complete works of Enid Blyton!).

BEST SEQUEL EVER:

Tricky! Really can’t think of one.

CURRENTLY READING:

My ‘main’ book at the moment is Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie which is, as expected, magnificent. Because I am having a lot of trouble sleeping at the moment (pregnancy grumble) I am also reading Mansfield Park by Jane Austen on my Kindle.

DRINK OF CHOICE WHILE READING:

Usually tea, but as I am mainly drinking decaff coffee at the moment (again, pregnancy grumble).

E-READER OR PHYSICAL BOOK?

I love ‘physical books’. They are so beautiful on your shelves, there is something magical about holding them and turning pages. But I am a reluctant Kindle convert. The ability to get basically every book that is over 100 years old for FREE in an instant is phenomenal. Its great to be able to hold it one handed and read at any angle. The built in light is a godsend for reading in bed and not disturbing my husband. And then there’s NetGalley!

FICTIONAL CHARACTER YOU PROBABLY WOULD HAVE ACTUALLY DATED IN HIGH SCHOOL:

When I was a teenager (and still now to be honest) I was totally besotted with Heathcliff! In terms of actual teenagers, I’m totally Team Peeta from The Hunger Games!

GLAD YOU GAVE THIS BOOK A CHANCE:

Hmmm, I’m not sure. I guess perhaps following on from my last answer it would have to be The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I am rather prejudice against Young Adult fiction and didn’t really want to read it when it was picked one month for one of my book clubs but I loved it and went on to quickly devour the trilogy and love the films. Great escapism, a strong female central character, decent writing.

HIDDEN GEM BOOK:

I don’t know if I read a lot of ‘hidden’ books, mainly new releases/ bestsellers and classics. Maybe I’ll go with Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s short story collection That Thing Around Your Neck because I don’t know many people who have read it and I really loved it.

IMPORTANT MOMENT IN YOUR READING LIFE:

So many! I have vague memories of my Mum reading the Lord of the Rings to me in bed when I was little. Or, more specifically I remember the smell of the red leather bookmark form Jorvik Viking Centre we used and the feeling of being a bit scared by Gollum. But I really remember reading bedtime stories with my Dad. Me and my Dad haven’t always had the easiest of relationships, especially in my teenage years but when I was little we read lots of Roald Dahl (I particularly remember The Twits) and CS Lewis (again, I particularly remember A Horse and His Boy because it was so weird compared to the rest of the series).

JUST FINISHED:

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North. I didn’t like it.

KINDS OF BOOKS YOU WON’T READ:

I try to avoid most young adult if I can help it, I don’t much like sci-fi although a lot keep getting picked for one of my book clubs, I don’t like ‘chick-lit’ and romance novels. I don’t really like fantasy (A Song of Ice and Fire series excepted).

LONGEST BOOK YOU’VE READ:

I don’t think I’ve ever actually finished The Lord of the Rings trilogy if you count it as one book which I will get around to doing one day. So I think its probably The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton which is a whopping 834 pages, but I loved every word.

MAJOR BOOK HANGOVER BECAUSE OF:

I was quite disappointed when I read A Dance with Dragons by George RR Martin because that meant I had run out of A Song of Ice and Fire series and I’m not convinced the next one is ever going to get published let alone the story actually gets finished. I think the last book I read that I just wanted to talk to everyone about was The Tenderness of Wolves. I also was a little bit obsessed after reading The Passage by Justin Cronin and pre-ordered the next one in the trilogy, The Twelve, and read it straight away etc… but was disappointed as it was nowhere near as good.

NUMBER OF BOOKCASES YOU OWN:

Well I don’t just keep books on my bookcases so I guess I have six/ seven. In our ‘study’ (front room) I keep non-fiction. So there are two shelves of science and sport books (mainly my husbands) and gardening, travel, nature, language books and then above boxes for all our bills, paperwork etc. Then there is a set of shelves for my history books with a self for sort of politics, sociology, biography type books. In the sitting/ dining room I keep fiction along with my CDs and DVDs. Then in the attic bedroom along the floor under our skylight windows is a row of old paperback classics which used to belong to my grandfather who died last year.

ONE BOOK YOU HAVE READ MULTIPLE TIMES:

Wuthering Heights. Nuff said.

PREFERRED PLACE TO READ:

Anywhere really. But particularly on the old rocking chair that belonged to my great-granny which we have inherited or perhaps in the garden, in blazing sunshine… sunglasses on, bottle of iced water, smell of Nivea suncream. Or anywhere on holiday.

QUOTE THAT INSPIRES YOU/GIVES YOU ALL THE FEELS FROM A BOOK YOU’VE READ:

There’s the whole bit where Cathy is talking to Nelly about Heathcliff in Wuthering Heights (I put all of it in my #ThisBook post), but this bit in particular:

Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same

READING REGRET:

That I haven’t read enough classics? That I don’t read enough non-fiction? That I have actually… I’m ashamed to admit it… read all three Fifty Shades of Grey books! (I didn’t like them!)

SERIES YOU STARTED AND NEED TO FINISH (ALL BOOKS ARE OUT IN SERIES):

Like I said earlier, The Lord of the Rings I suppose. I don’t read a lot of series. I’d like to read more Dorothy L. Sayers’ Peter Wimsey books as I’ve only read one and I did enjoy it.

THREE OF YOUR ALL-TIME FAVORITE BOOKS:

Wuthering Heights Emily Bronte

Wild Swans Jung Chang

Birds Without Wings Louis de Bernieres

(So hard to choose three!)

UNAPOLOGETIC FANGIRL FOR:

Wuthering Heights! Can you fangirl for that?! I guess I’m quite fan girly for A Song of Ice and Fire, in spite of myself!

VERY EXCITED FOR THIS RELEASE MORE THAN ALL THE OTHERS:

Next A Song of Ice and Fire book! Or new David Mitchell novel perhaps.

WORST BOOKISH HABIT:

Buying too many books when I have squillions unread on my shelves.

X MARKS THE SPOT: START AT THE TOP LEFT OF YOUR SHELF AND PICK THE 27TH BOOK:

Oooo, I’ll go into the sitting room and do this with the fiction books. Back in a sec…

A Partisan’s Daughter Louis de Bernieres.

YOUR LATEST BOOK PURCHASE:

Mom & Me & Mom by Maya Angelou.

ZZZ-SNATCHER BOOK (LAST BOOK THAT KEPT YOU UP WAY LATE):

Perhaps The Luminaries I found it ‘un-put-down-able’!

 

Leave a Reply

