Written in the Stars

Thought I’d do a quick post to justify my star ratings. I know your average book snob will not like star ratings, but I quite like to be able to have an at a glance record of my feelings towards a book. I also copy my reviews onto Goodreads which asks for star ratings although, annoyingly, won’t let you do halves.

5 stars

A five star book, for me, needs to be all-round captivating. That means well written with clear, evocative prose; good characterisation; and an intriguing plot. It has to be a book that I perhaps wouldn’t mind reading again, and would definitely recommend to other people.

4 stars

A four star book is one that I have enjoyed reading but perhaps wouldn’t come back to and I’d be happy enough to recommend it to someone who liked that kind of thing. It didn’t blow me away, but it was a pleasant way to pass the time.

3 stars

A three star book has some flaws which may, at times, detract from my enjoyment of it. There is probably something in it still that I like, admire or respect but I didn’t love it.

2 stars

Now we are veering into strongly dislike territory. There were probably points during this book that I just wanted to get it over with. It may be that I hate the characters, find the writing style difficult to get to grips with or think the plot is utterly boring/ unbelievable/ goes nowhere etc. There might be something in it to save it from dropping down to 1 star altogether.

1 star

A one star book is probably not worth the paper it is written on. I can’t see any merit to it, I hated every minute of it and only finished it because I hate to leave a book incomplete.

So there you have it. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

